Things Happened

In 2012, lots of stuff happened.  Oh yes, it did.  Would you like to see the list?  Sorry, there is no option for the short list.  It is what it is, and I lived every second of it.

1.  I met my running goal and then some.  I ran in four – not just one, but FOUR – 5k+ races.  My first was in June, and I swear that adrenaline carried me through most of it.  I came in at around 29:30, which wasn’t a bad time at all, considering the idea of running just a mile could make me start to wheeze.  Image

The second race was the traditional four mile race B and I run on the Fourth of July.  My goal was to run most of it, and if I could beat B, that would be the cherry on the top.  I hadn’t ever beaten B in this race because he has this uncanny ability to sprint out the last mile while I was puttering along behind him.  Boo whore.  This was different, however.  We had planned on running the first mile together, but somehow B ended up behind me and never quite caught up.  Oops.  So sorry, hunny!  Honestly, I had no idea where he was, and I knew it was a good possibility that he had already passed me.  I kept on trucking.  When I reached the last turn before the downhill to the finish, I saw Bestie Alana and my parents cheering on the side of the road.  I gasped out the question, “Have you seen B yet?”  The half grunt/ half cheer I let out when they said no scared the runners beside me.  I ended up finishing three minutes before him and under the time goal I set for myself.

The third 5k race was not so great, but the highlight was probably seeing my ex-boyfriend run by me and do a severe double-take.  Yes, I do run now, and I’m not as fat as when you dumped me in middle school.  What?

The fourth and last race was on Thanksgiving Day.  My mother-in-law and aunt-in-law signed B and I up (much to B’s chagrin), and it started on a bright 20 degree morning at 7:30 AM.  Yes, this is how I spent my first day of Thanksgiving break, a break I had so longed for just to sleep in.  Nope, I had to get my butt moving.  B and I ended up struggling it out together to the end (because his mother stopped me in the middle to “take a picture,” which really let B catch up).  Not my best time, but it was for a good cause and it gave me less guilt when it came to eating pie.

2.  I officially left my first teaching job… not because I fully wanted to, but because B had been accepted into a Ph.D. program and we were moving out of state.  I cried many tears over leaving my amazing colleagues and my troops of kids.  I still miss them, but I am so much happier teaching the grade level I am at today!

3.  We moved to a different state.  The day we moved, it was incredibly humid in Maine, so much so that we were all soaked by the time everything was loaded, we got stuck in bumper-to-bumper traffic in New Hampshire, and we were hit with a torrential thunderstorm when unloading into our new apartment.  I was miserable for the first month because I had no idea how to get anywhere without the GPS (thank goodness for those suckers), didn’t really have any available friends in the area, and was forced to live out of boxes for a number of days until we fully unpacked.  If you want to see me miserable, put all of my belongings in a box and don’t let me unpack them.  Ugh.  But after a couple months and getting back to school, I settled in and love where we live now.  It’s nice to have our own area and be closer to civilization.  However, if I hear one more person say, “Oh, you’re from Maine?  We own a summer home there!  We know all about it,” I am going to scream. 

4.  I cried when I had to put Massachusetts plates on my car.  So, so wrong.

5.  I went back to teaching middle school, and I couldn’t be happier!  Middle school is my jam, and I didn’t realize how unhappy I was teaching high school until I started teaching in a middle school again.  The kids are full of energy and can be encouraged to take on challenges.  How I missed that!

6.  Bestie Alana came to visit!  Her visits are always too short, but we did succeed in wearing out B with all of our travels.  We went to Vermont and toured around some delicious food places, visited our friend Alexandra in Massachusetts, celebrated the Fourth of July, and took a super hard, awful hike.  I don’t ever really want to go on that trail again.Image

7.  B and I celebrated our second anniversary by going to the “Gentlemen of the Road” concert tour, and it was AMAZING.  The day was beautiful, the location was right on the water, and the music was incredible.  The lack of food (six vendors for 6,000 people, and we weren’t allowed to bring in food) was the only dark mark on the event.  Thankfully, IHOP is open late and I had just enough blood sugar to not blackout while driving on the highway.  Trust me, that’s not a joke.  It almost happened.Image

8.  I got to take so many photos for so many friends.  I took one little munchkin’s newborn, three month, and six month photos, family photos at Thanksgiving, was the official photographer at one friend’s wedding, took photos at another’s and was mistaken for the photographer, and so much more.  I am loving my second job.  It’s my passion.  I could do this forever.ImageImageImageImageImage

And oh the plans I have for 2013!

One thought on “Things Happened

Leave a Reply

