One Week to 26

My twenty-sixth birthday is officially in one week.  Weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!

If you cannot tell, I love birthdays.  LOVE them.  I don’t care how old I am getting, they are fun to celebrate, hang out with friends and family, and eat some delicious dessert.  Seriously, it’s just a number.  I certainly don’t look like I’m turning 26 (thanks for making me realize that one again, little seventh grader the other day who told me I wasn’t old enough to even think about being married), so there is no way I have to act like it… outside of work.

Last year, I started a goal list of 30 things I want to do before I’m 30.  I have been crossing them off as I achieve them, and I have to say, I think I am doing pretty well.

Here is what I have so far and what I have already accomplished in the past year:

1.  Go to Europe at least once.

2.  Take a photography class.

3.  Reread all of the Harry Potter books again.  – In progress with my literacy class

4.  Learn enough Spanish to have a conversation.

5.  Feel comfortable in my own skin (which means working hard to tone everything up).

6.  Pay off most of my student loans (have no more than $5000 left).  (DONE! 9/21/11)

7.  Get a pet (cat or dog, but it has to be at a time when we feel like we aren’t cheating on our pets who live with our parents).

8.  Have someone buy a piece of my photography. (Christmas photo shoot, 12/18/11)

9.  Enter a cooking or baking competition.

10.  Start another Master’s degree.

11.  Take a cooking class (preferably with B).

12.  Move to another state (and live to tell the tale).

13.  See the Eiffel Tower in person.

14.  Live in a house/apartment where I can paint the walls (we’ll see if this happens).

15.  Run (and actually run) a 5k or the Four of the Fourth (a local race B and I do every year) – I will be on June 1!

16.  Be someone’s role model.

17.  Be in another one of my friends’ weddings. (Bestie C’s Wedding 8/19/11, but I wouldn’t mind more!)

18.  Take someone’s wedding-related pictures (and kick butt at it). (Friend K’s boudoir shoot, 4/12)

19.  Sew a piece of clothing for myself.  (Envelope clutch, achieved 4/18/12)

20.  See a volcano.  (Achieved 7/11)

21.  Learn to do a dive.

22.  Try a type of ethnic food I have never had before (like Ethiopian). (Middle Eastern, achieved 4/19/12)

23.  Cook a turkey (correctly!)

24.  Celebrate our five year anniversary with our family and friends.

25.  Confidently wear a bikini.

26.  Start seriously thinking about having some little chicklettes.

27. Grow my hair out and donate it to Beautiful Lengths at least one more time. – In progress, with even more meaning now that I have found out that my favorite mentor teacher from grad school is suffering from cancer.

28.  Apply to be on “Amazing Race” with B. (Application submitted 10/17/11!)

29.  Go to Cape Cod.

30.  Donate blood once a year. (I’m trying, but of all three times I have tried, I have failed.)  – Okay, this one is a total dud.  I have tried three times, and each time, ALL of the nurses have tried and failed to get my veins.  I turned into a human pin cushion.  So I am changing this goal to read at least twelve books before turning 30.  There are no needles involved in that one.

There are a couple more that are close to being done, but I don’t quite want to talk about them yet.  No, it’s not the baby one.  Sorry Moms.

What do you want to do before you turn the next “big” age?  Should I add anything to my list?

Leave a Reply

