Run It!

It’s vacation week!  Finally!  For those of you who think teachers get too many vacations, please go find the closest door, open it, put your hand next to the door frame, and then shut the door on your hand.  That’s how I feel when you make fun of a profession you have never tried but feel that you have the right to say your piece.  Please.  Not even you deal with your kids all day when there is a full moon.  And let’s remember, they are very different kids when they are away from you and around their peers, for better or for… not better.

But I’m not here to write about my kids (whom I really do love and were not the reason I was so ready for a vacation).  I have been noticing that with all of the running around I am doing (more like driving) and with my current stress levels, my time for working out has decreased, which in turn has led to the scale’s increase.  Soooo not good.  Add to that all of the Easter candy our parents gave to us a couple weekends again, and you can tell that I haven’t been feeling super confident with my body image. 

{Source}

Yes, I blame you, Mr. Googly Eyes!  Now come here so I can nibble on your ear…

I promised myself that I would step it up during vacation, and I have been pretty excited by the progress I have made in the past couple of days.  True, there is no way that I would see an improvement on the scale, but I am more focused on feeling better about my physical fitness first.  I decided to go back to what seemed to work for me last year at the beginning of the summer:  going to the track.  I set a distance I want to go (typically around four miles), I turn on my iPod, and I go.  As it turns out, “going” is a lot easier these days.

I have never been a runner.  I have never pretended to be.  My own mom has often told me that watching me run looks painful (thanks, Mom!).  I have a problem with one of my hips, and one of my legs is a little shorter than the other, so I kind of “limp” when I run even if I’m not in pain.  I also have asthma, which is tons of fun, and not a runner’s build by any stretch of the imagination.  But that hasn’t stopped me.  I am determined to RUN a 5k, and I started my training this week.

I started with just seeing how far I could run before I had to stop and wheeze.  My muscles are often ready for more, but my lungs say otherwise.  I paced myself and ran a full mile before I had to let myself breathe.  Sweet!  A full mile!  I walked the rest of the four miles.  The second time I went back, I decided to push it even more.  I ran 1.5 miles before stopping, walked a mile, and then ran another 0.625 miles.  That is the most I have run by myself… probably ever.  I’m getting there!

I’m really proud of my progress, and I cannot wait to go back to the track today.  Anyone have any running tips for beginners?  I know a lot of people swear by the Couch to 5K program, but my iPod is too “old” to use the program.  Have you started any new workouts lately?

Leave a Reply

