Inspiration: DIY Pinterest

Pinterest is an addiction.  If you have spent more than ten minutes on there, you know it’s incredibly hard to only be on there for a matter of minutes.  Conceptually, it’s a social bookmarking site that allows you to focus on identifying what you like through pictures and very little text.  Realistically, it is a place to find TONS of DIY fashion pieces!  And really, what’s better than some free, step-by-step inspiration?

Today’s DIY inspiration combines two of my loves:  fashion and reading.  Have you read The Hunger Games?  If you haven’t, go now.  Read all three.  It’s okay, I’ll wait.

Are you done yet?

The Hunger Games is the first book in a trilogy, being followed by Catching Fire and Mockingjay.  Suzanne Collins, the author, is a genius.  So many of my students had read the books and recommended them to me, so you know I had to read them.  SO. FREAKIN. GOOD.  With the movie coming out in March, I am on the prowl for some great Hunger Games pieces.  Okay, maybe just one piece, but definitely a statement piece I can wear to school and out and around.

Enter Pinterest.  I found this gem of a tutorial the other day.  Now, there are some things that I won’t be able to do.  First, I don’t have a “Simply Screen” Silk Screen Kit, though I would love one.  Secondly, I couldn’t find a black shirt like the one the writer used, so I picked out a purple t-shirt from the craft section in Walmart (truth be told, I’m not counting craft supplies as clothing budget for the month… cheating shmeating). 

{Source}

Now the question becomes how to do the design.  I could print out the design onto computer paper and cut it out from there, creating a stencil.  I think that’s what I am going with so far.  Any other ideas?

I had planned on doing this t-shirt over the weekend, but with losing a student on Saturday and then getting super bad food poisoning on Sunday night (I don’t miss thinking of the toilet as my best friend, trust me), I just didn’t have the time, energy, or stomach to do it.  So… you’ll just have to wait and see how it comes out!

I do have a question for you readers (you know… all two of you… oh hey!).  Would you like me to do DIY videos to add to my blog?  If there is interest, I may try and see what I can do.  It would be a fun way to share how to restore different pieces in your closet without a ton of money!  Let me know what you think!

2 thoughts on “Inspiration: DIY Pinterest

  1. Pingback: $10 a Month: The Rules « A Wife of Material

  2. Pingback: Pinspiration: I Am The Mockingjay (Or At Least My Shirt Is) | A Wife of Material

Leave a Reply

