New Life in the New Year

No Mom, not that kind of new life.  New life for older pieces of clothing, pieces I didn’t want to even keep before I got some good ideas on how to revamp them.

First off, HAPPY NEW YEAR!  I hope everyone had a fantastic and safe New Year’s Eve and that 2012 will be all that you hope for and make it to be.  I am looking forward to sharing yet another wonderful year with my friends, family, and, of course, my wonderful husband.  I feel like 2011 was a year on speed.  Where did it go?  Hopefully 2012 allows us to focus on what is important and love those around us.

Loving what’s around me is our theme for today’s post.  Today is the beginning of my $10 for the month for anything having to do with clothing, and I want to make the most of this resolution.  One great way to do this is to work with what my grandmomma gave me.  No, really.  She gave me this leather wallet/clutch.

It’s black, leather, and pretty darn boring.  She gave it to me when I was probably around 15, and I haven’t used it at all.  It just wasn’t my style, so it ended up in a Goodwill bag when I moved out of my parents’ house.  And it sat in that Goodwill bag until this past Monday when I gave it a second look as I double checked my room for everything I needed to take home with me.  During the summer, I had seen segments on the Today Show where some of their style experts revamped basic purses and clutches with… wait for it… Duck Tape.  Yes, this brand is named Duck Tape, and I know it’s really called duct tape.  My momma didn’t raise no dummy.  Word. 

Going along with this idea, I looked for some tape that had a pattern or color that I really liked.  I found this lovely roll at Joann Fabrics, though I am sure you could get it at Walmart too.  Leopard print tape?  Oh heck yes!  With just two pieces, I took the clutch/wallet from drab to fab.  See?

To go along with it and to really capitalize on my leopard print affinity, I set out to find an affordable leopard print infinity scarf.  All places seemed to be marked with high prices; even eBay didn’t offer anything for under $4.  While $4 may seem like a small amount, I wanted to do this really really cheaply in light of the holiday season.  So what is a girl to do?  Go to Walmart.  I found a lovely, soft leopard print fabric for $1.50 a yard.  I bought one yard, and, having no sewing machine, stitched it all by hand.  I simply cut the fabric into three strips and used two of them, hemmed the long sides of fabric, and then sewed the ends together.  I should have double sided the fabric, but for what it is, I think it looks great and works well for what I wanted.  Good job, self!

What do you think?  Have you jumped on the animal print bandwagon?  What else would you like to see redone?  I am always looking for cool new things to do!

Leave a Reply

