New Year-New Clothes Resolution

First of all, merry Christmas and happy Hanukkah to everyone out there!  I hope you all had delightful holidays!  Trust me, I’ll be doing fashion updates on my outfits for the holidays pretty soon.  You have to love having a little time off around the holidays!

Speaking of holidays… With New Year’s coming up, it’s hard not to think about resolutions.  I certainly have a few on my list so far.  You know, the stereotypical ones… I would like to lose another 5ish pounds to get to my goal weight, eat more vegetables, save more money, yada yada yada.  Of course I want to really do all of those, but I also want to continue my fashion-discovery journey.  But, if I want to save money, how can I work on my wardrobe?

Good question.  Thankfully, B and I have set up little bank accounts of our own that we lovingly refer to as “Awesome Funds.”  These bank accounts are typically rather small and contain money that we each get for birthdays, holidays, etc.  It’s money that we can spend any way we want without having to ask the other.  Pretty sweet, huh?  Well, with my photography bookings picking up (oh, did I tell you I’m a photographer?), that money is going into my awesome fund, and while it is a little bit here and there, it can certainly feed my clothing frenzy.

It also helps to have a set budget.  Good old Mom and Dad taught me to always be certain of what you want to spend and what is too much.  Good old Mom and Dad also instilled a pretty decent streak of guilt in me.  I feel like I am depriving B of something every time I buy a shirt, skirt, or coat, even if it comes out of my own awesome fund.  With this level of guilt, you would think I was a devout Catholic or Jew.  Nope, just honorary member of both communities.  I have cards to prove them.  Want to see?  Okay, maybe another time.

With guilt and little money, how is a girl supposed to look fabulous?  By setting a very small (but still alive) budget!  Hooray for budgeting!  Here’s my plan:

1.  I am setting a budget of $10 a month for thrifting/clothing purchases.  Ten dollars is not a whole heck of a lot, but it’s very manageable, and, if I really want something specific, I can save the money from one month and pair it with another.  Plus, if I do well in the thrift stores, I can get four pieces on sale for $2.50 each.  Win!

2.  Take a really hard look at what I currently have.  It’s so easy to get caught up in “Ohhh, I really like that top!  Who cares if I already have 18 black cardigans?!  This one has cute little ruffles!”  That, my shopaholic friends, is how your closet gets filled to the brim with sweaters that cause your coworkers to wonder if you are a closeted goth in your off-time.

3.  In conjunction with number two, I want to work on a classics list.  What’s that?  Oh, you’ll see in the next post!  It’s a pretty cool list, I can tell you that!

4.  Love what I own and work it.  Why buy clothes that you don’t love?  Why hold onto clothing that you don’t use, doesn’t look good, or doesn’t look right?  Donate it, baby!  I want my closet to reflect my style, my comfort, and my personality.  If something doesn’t fit those three, it needs to leave.  Growth comes from editing.  If it works for writing, it works for clothing.

I’m hoping that 2012 will be just as fabulous as my closet will be.  After all, if it’s going to be the end of the world, I might as well look as good as possible, right?  If aliens come to earth and find my pictures, I hope I represent what some Mainers can dress like.

What are your goals or resolutions for 2012?  Did you have a great holiday season?

2 thoughts on “New Year-New Clothes Resolution

  1. Pingback: Goodwill Thrift: December 2011 « A Wife of Material

  2. Pingback: Resolutionary Ideas for 2012 « A Wife of Material

Leave a Reply

