It Only Took 25 Years

It only took 25 years, but I think I have finally found the handle on the door labeled “FASHION.”  Before then, I was probably walking around in tight circles in the dark, shrugging and hoping I was headed in the right direction.  Nope.  I wasn’t.  I mean, they weren’t bad circles.  Some of them were complimented here and there.  Some of them… were not.

I knew how to rock the turtlenecks back in the 1990s.  If my mother had her way, I probably still would be.My sister and I also knew when to step up our wardrobes and dress it up.  The real question is, who wore it best?Freshman year of collegeT-shirts over more t-shirts with the (now) hubs during collegeMore t-shirt layering with cardigans (a less egregious fashion sin)Uh… just focus on the duck.  Yeah, just the duck.Pretty dress?  Yes.  Awkward length?  Ohhhh yeah.Better layering came into play in grad school, thanks to moving to a city where people have more time to consider clothing and the art of getting dressed.

Right.  Like I said, it hasn’t always been reaaallllyyyy bad, but in the worst of times, even Charles Dickens would have run for the hills.  Please sir, can I have more fashion sense?

So what am I doing here, writing for a blog called “A Wife of Material?”  Well, step into my journey with me.  Over the past year and a half, I have started to really examine who I am, what I want to show with my selections, and what I want in life.  Let’s call it my quarter life fashion crisis.  Oh, and let’s add in an added twist:  I teach, I’m recently married, and we have very little spending money.  So here is my public education in fashion, a step forward (in much cuter shoes).  I’m letting no fashion find get left behind!

2 thoughts on “It Only Took 25 Years

  1. How did you get to be this very good? Its amazing to see someone put so significantly passion into a subject. Im glad I came across this. Im glad I took the time to read on past the first paragraph. Youve got so much to say, so a lot to offer. I hope people realise this and look into your page.

Leave a Reply

